What is Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA)? - Ikajo Glossary


Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA)

What is a Single Euro Payment Area?

Single Euro Payments Area is an eagerness to simplify the payment method among the members of the EU. This project makes the transfers of funds in Euro uncomplicated. The SEPA’s major goal is to enhance the effectiveness of the electronic transfers of funds across the border as well as allow individuals to conduct cashless transfers in euro to the account that is located in someplace in Eurozone. The client just needs a bank account for managing a transaction.  This totally simplifies the issue of obtaining or sending funds.

This simplification exists in order to advance the electronic payments across the border as well as to make them as convenient as the payments in the country itself. The structure functions in every country-member of Europe. Furthermore, it enables people who are employed in various countries to get income to the existing account of the native country.

As the system turns separated areas into one payment zone, SEPA’s goal is also to develop financial instruments. Alongside instruments, SEPA enhances infrastructure and standards. The final goal is to ease the capital move within the area.

Besides all of the positive sides mentioned above, this system also maintains payments at a lower price, in a shorter-term as well as safer. The main necessity for banks is to use the identical prices both for the transfers within the country and for the members of the Eurozone.

So far, there are 36 countries that are SEPA members. Among them are 28 European Union countries and 4 European Free Trade Association countries.

Thank You For Order
Thank you!

Thanks for filling that out. We really appreciate you giving us a moment of your time today. Your ticket on its way to your email.